How are you supposed to know what service to expect when selecting a moving company? Read some of our moving reviews below to see how we’ve helped people all over Canada with their local and long distance moves.

Moving Reviews

Great Canadian Van Lines was the best choice I could have ever made for my move from Toronto to Saskatoon! Sara was very responsive with my booking needs, and answered all my questions very promptly. I felt well prepared before the move, and knew what to expect. Amar Sihu and Jazzy were the most amazing movers ever. I have heard so many horror stories about bad movers, but they were an amazing team. Amar did a great job communicating when he would arrive for both the pickup and drop-off, and he even responded to a last minute request for additional mattress bags. He called me when he was a day away, and even called to let me know he was just 45 minutes late coming in. The communication was excellent, and that made me feel reassured about everything. He came prepared with tons of blankets and took great care to wrap all our furniture properly. They were fast and efficient, and I felt at ease that our stuff would be well taken care of. The most amazing part was that they arrived from Toronto to Saskatoon in 4 days!! They were equally professional and speedy in unloading our furniture into the right rooms, and even helped to put the large furniture back together again. I cannot emphasize how great of a moving experience it was with Amar and Jazzy, and I have personally told everyone I know to book with them for their move. 5 star move for sure!

Lei Xia  07/06/2020

 

I would just like to compliment the gentlemen that moved me on Tues. They were lead by Amar. These guys were professional and very pleasant. I was exhausted just watching them. These guys get 5 stars from me and I would definitely recommend their services. Lovely men.
Brenda-Lee Irwin 05/29/2020

 

 

Hello Sara

Just wanted to let you know that our experience with GCVL was first class.  The loading at our old home was well organized, happened quickly and the guys were very careful.  Sean wrapped everything that had to be wrapped with lots of blankest and packing tape and let us know that he would be the cross Canada driver and responsible for unloading at our new home.
The delivery date was as scheduled and Sean, Mike and Jay did a great job unloading our furniture and boxes.
We knew that that the stuff being moved had too be unloaded from the shuttle truck into a large trailer for the cross Canada drive and reloaded onto a shuttle truck for delivery.  Despite this offloading and loading we have not found any damage to report.
You may use our comments above as customer reference.
thanks
Robin & Joanne 05/29/2020

 

Great Canadian Van Lines are just that!! This was the smoothest, most organized move I have ever experienced! From the initial stages right through to move-in, everything was handled professionally, respectfully and efficiently. We cannot thank GCVL and their moving team for an excellent move! We would highly recommend this company to anyone looking for a moving company.

Mary Hamilton 05 /21 /2020

 

An excellent experience. Lana (the administrator) updated us regularly with clear, step-by-step information on all processes and fees/payments, and Wade and his team (the movers) were professional, courteous, careful and efficient. It was a stress-free move and it all went smoothly. Thanks very much; I’m happy to recommend GCVL.

Peter Pallota  05/18/2020

Star Rating

Kathy Dorland made my move a very relaxed experience from beginning to end.

Thank you again Great Canadian Van Lines Limited .

Alma Ostler  05/16/2020

Hello Emily

Thanks for your info. Please refer to my comments as below:
Great Canadian Van Lines was referred and recommended by my aunt who has used them in the past. My experience with Great Canadian Van Lines for my move from Vancouver to Toronto has been excellent. The price is considered reasonable. Emily provided exceptional customer service, followed up and respond to all my inquiries in a timely fashion. Wade, the driver and his helpers packed our goods professionally with a detailed packing list provided. The shipment has arrived according to schedule with no delay. There was no damage at all for all our goods. I will recommend and will use them again for my next local move.

Raymond Lo  05/15/2020

 

The sales rep, Sara, did a great job answering all of my questions quickly and completely. We were moving from NS to BC for my wife’s job. The pandemic went into full effect after we planned the move and we were worried about alot of different aspects of the move. Sara put our mind to rest about our stuff being picked up and delivered . We have small kids so furniture and toys are incredibly important for isolating after the move. I will use this company if we move again for sure.

Andrew Thompson, 05/05/2020

 

Great service moving from Saskatchewan to Ontario. Thanks for making the move easy. Everything arrived safe and sound. Highly recommend this moving company.

Beverly Greenwood    04/29/2020

 

Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Responsiveness, Value

I was very impressed with the service Sean and the organizing team provided for my cross-country move. I had to change dates a number of times to coordinate with my condo building and they were able to be flexible to support the changes. The moving team went above and beyond to help move things I couldn’t carry, arrived early, and kept me updated through the process. Everything arrived in one piece, there was nothing broken, The initial quote was accurate with no hidden expenses or repricing after the fact. I would definitely recommend.

Julia Nugent  04/08/20

 

I used Great Canadian Van Lines on my recent move from Ontario to Quebec and everything went really well. I had quite a few questions up front and Kathy walked me through everything and I felt very assured. The scheduling and process to list inventory was smooth. The movers took great care with my things and nothing was damaged. They protected every item with padding and blankets. There were no delays in timing. I would definitely hire Great Canadian Van Lines again, should I ever have a need for a move.

Denise Hotze 04/08/2020

 

We had great service moved from edmonton to Ontario, and we are so happy everything was picked up and delivered on time , nothing broken , if you are moving and want professional service use them

Mary Meilo 03/15/2020

 

I have used GCV twice to get from British Columbia to Toronto and back. Both times I worked with Sara Engelsman and cant say enough about her service and assistance throughout the move. Their prices are also highly competitive in comparison to the other big moving companies. I would highly recommend using GCV and Sara if you are planning long distance travel

Wil Pointon 03/12/2020

 

Great service from beginning to end. The consultant I worked with was patient and understanding, helping me figure out my packing list, price, parking, etc. for my move from Ontario to Alberta. In the end, the estimate I had was accurate, and the bill of lading detailed. The movers themselves were nice and took excellent care in the moving and wrapping of my things. One of the dining chairs had a minor break which was fixed on-site and is no longer visible. I definitely recommend GCVL to anyone needing to do a long-distance move and wanting it to be as stress-free as possible.

Luisa Schleiicher 02/25/2020

 

From start to finish, I was extremely pleased with my moving experience with GCVL from Alberta to Ontario. I did a ton of research before deciding to go with this company, and I definitely made the right choice. The office staff were responsive and helpful with all my questions. The movers communicated clearly with me, were kind and courteous, and took great care with my items. On top of this, it was the best price I found among several companies I received quotes from, and my final bill of lading was accurate to the quote. Thanks GCVL!

Julia Buckingham 02/14/2020

 

We had a great experience in having our household packed up, stored and moved across the country. The movers were very efficient and took great care with our household belongings. Everyone we encountered involved with arranging, storing and moving our belongings were super nice. Customer service is excellent and any inquiries we had were answered in a speedy and most satisfactory manner. The delivery driver was efficient and friendly. We chose to pack everything ourselves and fortunately we did it well as nothing arrived broken. Overall, I can say we had a great experience with Great Canadian Van Lines.

Maureena Jordan  01/10/2020

 

Great Canadian Van Lines was a great company to work with for my move from Edmonton to Toronto in December. From booking through final delivery everything went smoothly. The moving crew arrived on time and were efficient. Upon final delivery, they arrived within the specified date range, provided ample notice of the expected drop off time, and everything arrived in great condition. Would use them again for another move in the future.

Paige Tocher  01/10/2020

 

The circumstances around my move were unpleasant but Sara and Daniel (my driver) at Great Canadian Van Lines took the stress out of the move from BC to QC. I can’t say enough great things about them. They were organized, friendly, professional,on time and took great care of my stuff. Not a single piece arrived damaged. Wouldn’t hesitate to use them again or recommend them to a friend.

Robin Walden  01/10/2020

 

My family and I recently moved from Toronto to Calgary and we were looking for a reputable moving company to help transport our belongings. I searched online and found the Great Canadian Van Lines as being the top on the list in ratings and customer satisfaction. I reached out for a quotation and Sara responded promptly to help me understand the cost and the pick-up date booking reservation. She was very helpful and having email exchanges with her helped answer all my questions. The moving experience was exceptional as well. The drivers were very courteous and punctual and I would say that they took good care of our belongings. They reviewed the list with us and helped us organize our things when it got here in Calgary. I would highly recommend the services of GCVL.

Jackie Ponce 24/12/2019

 

Most professional move at reasonable rate. I had a sofa, chair and a few boxes to move from one city in the east to a city in west. They were quick to give me a quote, set up pick up and delivery times. Called to give me updates. About 30% less than other professional moving companies.

Cynthia Jane Owen 23/12/2019

 

Hi and happy holidays to you!

I have been remiss in not emailing you sooner. I am finally getting settled and finding the time to complete some correspondence.

Let me start off by thanking you, Lana and Kathy, for your deft handling of my moving arrangements. Kathy, as I expect you are told often, you were a patient port in the tumultuous storm of my preparation for a move across country. Likewise, Lana, your efficiency made our every interaction easy. Thank you both. Great Canadian is lucky to have you.

Equally impressive was the person doing the actual move. I cannot day enough good things about Daniel. Throughout the move process, he was the consummate professional: he coordinated the move, collected my new sofa from a downtown Vancouver salesroom, adapted the schedule at the very last minute to accommodate the outrageous demands of the sellers of my new home. He did all of this and more in the friendly and kind fashion I now realize is his signature.

En route, a surprisingly violent early winter storm shut down the TransCanada highway and all other highways in Manitoba and took out its share of big rigs — I saw these littering the highway once I was allowed through. Despite this rather substantial wrench in the plan, Daniel took the time to communicate and to assure me that he had managed to keep himself and my belongings safe and sound.

When the day came for the actual delivery, Daniel’s local help did not arrive, so Daniel off loaded my belongings entirely solo! Wow.

Later, while unpacking, I realized that, somewhere in the midst of the move, a pedal had fallen off my bike. I texted this to Daniel, who replied apologizing for not communicating earlier that he had found the pedal while returning another’s move to Vancouver. He was in the prairies at that point but had already planned a date to drop by my new home to return the pedal. Which he did on time and with a smile, of course.

Whatever I asked of him or life threw at him, he always was thoughtful, empathetic and kind. What a good man.

Incredible service! Daniel deserves a raise, I’d say 🙂

All in all, I am very grateful to you all. I wish you continued success in the new year and all the joy of the season.

Feel free to forward this to Daniel and/or share it with the public.

All the best,
Diane Major   22/12/2019

 

Good Morning
To whom this may concern
My name is Donovan Arnaud and I and my family moved recently from North Grenville ON to Strathmore Alberta. The sevices of your company, the Great Canadian Van Lines arranged and carried out the move.
This email is intended to reflect on the outstanding services provided by the driver and supervisor of the move, Mr Amar Nijaaar.
As a former member of the Canadian Armed Forces, I have had many moves over the years and I recognize and appreciate leadership skill and organizational abilities when I see them.  Amar possesses both of those qualities in abundance.
The move from end to end was perfectly planned and executed.  A truly excellent performance. My sincere thanks and appreciation to Amar and your services.
Please convey my deep appreciation to Amar
I wish you all a very Merry Christmas
Sincerely
Donovan A.  16/12/2019

 

I recently moved from Vancouver to Calgary and I used Great Canadian Van Lines’ services. The whole experience was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They carefully wrapped our furniture with blankets in order to protect them during the move. They also kept us well informed when they were on the way and were about to arrive so that we can be prepared in our home at the destination. All these made the move very smooth without any hassle. We appreciate GCVL’s assistance and would definitely recommend their services to anyone who needs to move long-distance. Thank you very much!!

Anfer Chang  13/12/2019

 

We recently used their services for our move from Toronto to Vancouver. It was a seamless experience from start to finish! Every person we were in contact with was prompt and polite. Our things arrived on time and in great condition. Will definitely recommend Great Canadian Van Lines!

Sara C  13/12/2019

 

I recently organized a move for my father from BC to Manitoba and I was very happy with the service. The movers came in and took great care in wrapping items for the move. They were very organized and friendly. The items arrived to the destination in great condition and there were no issues. The estimate was good and there were no surprises in the final bill. I would have no hesitation calling them again if I ever have a cross province move to make again.

Jim Harvey  11/12/2019

 

I recommend everyone use GCVL for all of your moves. Every point of contact is 100% customer service and attention to detail. Kathy and Lana in the offices were always letting me know what was happening and when. Wade, the driver, is incredible. **** ****** ** ** *** *** ** ********* ** ******* ** **** *** *** ****** **** *** **** * have used other carriers and everything was broken and zero customer service. GCVL is simply in a class of their own. Excellent rates, amazing contact throughout the move and always making sure the customer is looked after. Everything is carefully wrapped and taken apart and set up again. I almost never write a review but I hope everyone in Canada does their homework and sees this posting. Most people only post to complain. If you read the other reviews for GCVL, they say the same thing I do. Calling GCVL is a no brainer. Do not even compare as you will not find another company that cares more about their customers. ****

David Gillan 11/12/2019

 

From the initial estimates and the initial loading this was a positive experience. I felt my concerns and worries were addressed professionally. My goods arrived in the time period promised and the unloading was handled well and courteously. I packed myself and in the end only three pieces of glassware were broken out of a 5200lb shipment. I would highly recommend Great Canadian! ( and the weight estimate was out by 27 lbs.!! – the final weight is only known once the truck is loaded)

Jill Relyea 4/12/2019

 

Great service! Moved to Montreal and was very pleased with the helpful and communicative service and assistance. The price I was quoted at was very accurate to the price I paid after the move. The packing service was an exceptional and surprisingly smooth process. I could not have been happier! Amazing customer service and responsiveness is hard to come by these days.

Sandeep Kumara 3/12/2019

 

This is the second time I’ve used Great Canadian Van Lines for a cross country move. The first time was Vancouver to Toronto five and a half years ago and the second time was Toronto to Summerland, BC just a couple of weeks ago. I have no negative comments about the moves, in fact the office staff (Sara) and the long haul driver (Wade) could not have been more professional. It is extremely stressful packing up everything and shipping it across the country but Sara and Wade made it so much easier to deal with everything. The whole loading in Toronto took just under three hours and the local guys working with Wade were careful, efficient and friendly. My stuff arrived within the date range I was given and nothing was damaged or lost. The inventory check list went smoothly so there is really nothing to complain about. I give these guys 5 stars because they are worth every penny. I wouldn’t hesitate to use GCVL again (if I’m foolish enough to move back to Ontario!!) and I certainly recommend them to anyone making a long haul move across the country or even across the city. Thanks guys!!!

Sharon H  16/10/2019

 

I recently moved an entire household from Vancouver to Toronto. Mark was amazing from the get go. Continuously helpful, available, kind and prompt. It was quite a last minute move, which he worked tirelessly to help me execute. The crew were kind, prompt courteous and took care of my belongings as thought they were their own. I cannot recommend this company more highly. and when I read through the complaints below? my first thought is do your due diligence people. This company will bend over backwards to help you. Including driving to downtown Toronto on a Friday evening in rush hour to deliver your goods because that’s all you can get last minute. Five stars and then some.

Sharon G  16/10/2019

 

I used GCVL in 2018 and in 2019. I was very pleased with their service. This year I added the packing service as well and was very surprised at how efficient and fast they were and how well packed everything was. I wouldn’t use any other company for a long distance move. Great service and great price!

Joanne C 21/10/2019

 

Best moving company I have used, ever! I did a long distance moving and there were no damages to my belongings, nor any issues with the company. Very polite and trained staff. I would definitely recommend this company for those who doesn’t want headaches in the process.
Fabio Bittencourt
I have done 2 cross-country moves (Vancouver-Montreal, Montreal-Calgary) with GCVL and have nothing but good things to say about them. We have dealt with Mark, Kyle, and other employees from the offices and everyone was always polite, accommodating, and thorough. The movers and drivers were always courteous, careful with our stuff, organized, clean, and highly efficient. Both of our moves arrived as scheduled. On the last move, one of the guys even helped my mom shovel the snow off the driveway to the house! The price felt fair and it was up-front from the beginning. It of course is up to you to give them all the information they need to quote as close to the final bill as possible. The fees were clearly explained, there were no hidden fees, and payment couldn’t be easier to make on their platform. Highly, highly recommended!
Oriana Garcia

The staff at all points of entry – from the booking to the delivery guys were fabulous to work with. The furniture arrived on time and cost less than originally estimated. I would definitely recommend Great Canadian Van Lines for long distance moves within Canada. The staff helped make a stressful experience much more pleasant. Thank you.

Trisha Estabrooks

10 Location Shauna in Delta

All the guys who loaded and unloaded my stuff, everyone was amazing. It went so smooth. Jane in CS was easy to work with as well. Thanks to everyone.

 

10 Location Erin in Toronto

Sara was our moving rep and she was lovely. I had a lot of concerns about our stuff and she was so reassuring. The guys who arrived on moving day were helpful and professional. Once everything was loaded GCVL kept in touch with us every couple of days as to our delivery updates. And then everything arrived in perfect order and the guys who unloaded on the other end were great. Start to finish a GREAT experience

10 Location ELIZABETH in London

GCVL Rep. Sara and staff at HQ Lana and Emily and Jane were extremely helpful and answered all my many many questions! I have never organized a move like this before. All staff were easy to reach and responded quickly–usually same day. Moving crew, Jai, and assistant were very patient and careful. All of my furniture was wrapped and taped in blankets. Arrival date was sooner than expected. Jai and assistant were thorough and did not leave until all questions answered and inventory checked. They helped place boxes and furniture where I needed them. Very professional organized company!!

Moved from Surrey to Prince George

We moved from Surrey to Prince George and Great Canadian Van lines did a great job. They were on top of things in terms of communication, did everything they could for us to accommodate our timing and needs (even as things changed), their crew was professional and fast, and we received all of our goods undamaged. I would definitely recommend this company.

Moving From Victoria BC To London Ontario

This is a very reliable company and very professional. After researching several moving companies, I decided to use this company. The estimate was based on weight, and again I was advised that if the weight was over then the cost would be more. I was emailed and contacted on several occasions with regards to the cost. Everything was clearly explained. When the driver Cole arrived at my residence, not only was he professional, he was careful to pack the belongings that were not in boxes and carefully made sure that everything was packed properly. Cole and his helper were very considerate of my belongings and after my belongings were on the truck, he took a picture to show me. My belongings arrived and I have pretty much unpacked, and so far not one thing is broken, and no scratches on any furniture. I also received my final weight and I was under, this company did not hesitate to refund the difference. I would definitely recommend this company and its driver Cole to anyone that is considering a long-distance move. With all the bad moving companies out there, this one has truly been a success

Moving furniture from North Vancouver to Calgary in too drop-off locations in Calgary
First of all Juvia in Vancouver (Sorry for the misspelling of her name )was so helpful and efficient on the phone and with further correspondence in emails. Second of all the great guys both shipping from Vancouver and then the guys who unloaded were super. Efficient courteous, clean and so helpful. The one fellow who was the driver & mover from Edmonton was super I knew when he was coming and we got the stuff all delivered, on time and in great shape. It wasn’t a big job just $1500.00 but they were loading stuff from my Mom’s place in North Vancouver, as she had passed away and bringing to my house and my daughters also in Calgary. Stuff that was precious to us. You should be proud of these workers, please pass these good wishes to them.
Maureen Mainwood a very happy customer.

I want to let you know how much I appreciate your help, patience and friendly service throughout this stressful move from Toronto to Vancouver.

I also want to let you know that all my belongings were delivered with great care by Mark and Justin. Justin was very kind and even offered to help to move some other stuff for me. Also the driver, and the crew in Toronto did a great job.

Please pass on the compliments.

I wish you a merry Xmas and a very happy new year.

Chay K.


I am taking a bit of time now to let you know how pleased we were with the service that your Company provided from end to end, doorstep from our Condo in Toronto to our home in Vancouver. Your mover, Mr Daniel Lapierre and his crew were very professional, efficient and friendly at all times. Hard to imagine how high-pressured individuals like them could be whistling and be so cheerful in their jobs, chatting with us between brief stops! They even offered suggestions on what to pack, eg we wanted to leave behind our huge box-spring bed, but Daniel felt it was light enough to load and bring, won’t cost much more. To buy a replacement one in Vancouver would cost a lot more than shipping it. So we packed it! Another situation was where all our boxes and items were marked to be left at different points in our home, but in view of the fact we were planning to start renovating the house, several items/boxes had to be placed and huddled in different locations and they did these to make our renovations easier! No questions were asked when items were moved around. Thank you.

In Vancouver, we had kept separate storage of items in a self-storage facility and wanted to unload them and bring them to our home. Mr Daniel helped us with this arrangement as well.

The support that you Kathy provided was excellent too and we thank you.

We would strongly urge anyone moving to use Great Canadian Van Lines. Your price was very reasonable compared to several other approved Van line companies we received quotes from. We will not hesitate to use your company again should we move. We have recommended your company to our family members including one overseas and friends.

Best wishes and regards,

Mary & Henry.


I recently made a big move from Markham, Ontario to Victoria, BC. There were so many movers to choose from. In the end, I chose Great Canadian Van Lines not only because of its reputation but also the very personalized conversation I had with Mr Mark Valiant and all the other personnel from the company. Everyone was pleasant, helpful and very professional about the move. My hundreds of boxes and furniture were very carefully packed in the van and nothing got lost, broken or scratched. They were very accommodating of my needs including arrival time in BC. There was open and constant communication through the move, from pick up to delivery. I highly recommend this company.
Alicia Fernandez

A great experience from start to finish. We moved from BC to Ontario, and we took our entire household with us; a BIG move of about 14000 pounds. Not one single item was damaged, broken, or lost! The guys working with great Canadian Van Lines from Provincial Movers out of Edmonton, were especially professional, efficient, and friendly ( these guys need to be mentioned by name and thanked for the wonderful job they did: Steve, our driver, Donny Bernard, ). An all-around positive experience!
 

I had a wonderful experience with your company.  This was my 7th time using movers and this was by far the best. I was treated with kindness and respect from the first time I talked over the phone to book an appointment, right down to the driver that delivered my belongings.  I took some business cards to hand out. I felt confident that anyone I recommend would be very pleased.

Donna R. (BBB Link here)


I wish I could figure out the link, but like I said am not good with computers. Your company gets an A+ from me in every category. You made a very stressful time in my life a little easier.  Thank you for your thoughtful and caring staff. It is hard to pick up and move, especially when family asks you to move out after 6 months earlier asking you to drop your life in Alberta and move to Ontario.

Again “A+” services and Kudos all around, your company is awesome.

Wendy


I feel it is only fair to relate to you our appreciation and thanks for an excellent move. We moved from Ontario to British Columbia in June. Sharon Staebler of Hummels Moving came to provide our quote then, after making our decision to move using Great Canadian, a team comprised of Bill and Adlore (and one other)came to put all of our household into a moving van. They were all professional, efficient and kind.

Thanks for the stress-free move.

Sincerely,

Janet and Remy


Hi Kathy,

Just wanted to write and let you know how happy we were to have chosen Great Canadian Van lines again for our second cross-Canada move in five years. Yet again our move went off without a hitch! Our final total came in under the estimate, within the time frame provided and with no damage to any goods or homes. In fact the only breakage came from me unpacking!

Amar and his crew were amazingly efficient, professional, organized and helpful during the Toronto pickup in 34 degrees dealing with 3 flights of stairs in our Victorian semi, and at the drop off in Vancouver, where they managed our spiral staircase with ease (not to mention dealing with parking after Vancouver’s parking permit left us high and dry!) Please pass on another big thank you to them!

Thank you very much for making our move as smooth as it could possibly be. If we decide to move again, you will be hearing from us!

Cheers,

Eleanor & Brock


Great Canadian Van Lines & Purely Canadian rescued our move!

You weren’t our first choice mover – we selected a lower bid – but that company was a disaster. When they showed up they didn’t have enough room in the van. An hour after arriving that was resolved. Then, after two items were broken, I sent an email to their head office with concerns about the quality of the packing. Their response was to cancel the job – they simply drove away without finishing the job!

We had less than 2 days before the new owners took possession.

I remembered Shawn and immediately called him to see if he could take the job. We realize it is all business and most movers would have turned us away given the short notice. We fully expected to hear no; however, his first instinct was to tell us not to worry – he would take care this mess. Within 15 minutes of hearing our dilemma Shawn confirmed a van and packers!

Shawn and the driver Bill arrived at our home later that same day to do a quick inventory. Bill arrived in the evening with packing materials and introduced us to Tren – one of the packing team members. Tren had the misfortune of having to unpack/repack the work completed by the previous movers. He showed us many pieces that had been poorly wrapped and packed.

We can’t say enough good things about the crew. Bill – the driver – was fabulous! He kept reassuring us we would be out in time. Trent kept us entertained with stories of his life while packing a record number of china barrels. He actually wrote “Finally the last kitchen box” and almost had a full-on celebration! Adelore & Jim have the strongest backs & arms – they got everything done within the timeframe.

We are ever so grateful for having GC come to our home and for turning around a near disaster. Great Canadian handled everything in such a positive and caring manner. We will always remember how you saved our move – and our sanity!

Again, thank you. We highly recommend Great Canadian to all friends & family.

Bill – you are the BEST!

Kind regards,

Karen & Andrew


After doing much research on moving companies to do our cross country move I decided on Great Canadian Van Lines because of their great overall reviews. From my first contact, Rick Valiant, who provided me with my quote, I already knew they would be the one to use. I got a quick and prompt response even with the upcoming Christmas holiday hours. He replied within the next day and won my business even though I got cheaper quotes elsewhere. After the $200 deposit was paid, dispatch called me within the next business day to setup my move pick up date. Moving day came and they were delayed due to trailer truck issues, but Wade called me to let me know that they would get to us as soon as possible. They ran only about 1.5 hours late which was no big deal. Wade got to labeling all our items and had no problems with us adding more items after the fact. He wrapped up our king sized mattress and our large bed set which was taken apart in several large pieces. During this time Wade found a $100 bill under our bed and put it aside. Is this not an honest man or what? I was very impressed with this. Had it been any other person I’m sure they would’ve pocketed the money. The weigh in for our move came to much heavier than quoted. I guess our few pieces of furniture were much much heavier than I anticipated. (King mattress, king bedset with large drawers attached, and large massage chair.) They emailed me a bill of lading with the final price and estimated time of arrival. At the time the truck left Toronto I was given a phone call by dispatch to let me know that they would arrive in Calgary in about a week’s time. Wade called me the day before arrival to set up a time the next day (on Sunday.) Being on a Sunday was even more of a convenience for me. (Their email stated that working crews didn’t work Sundays and holidays.) Extra bonus!! He and the other mover arrived 5 minutes early. They moved everything into the garage and house in about 1.5 hours. Nothing was missing!!!!! Yay! I’ve had missing boxes before when we did a move from Vancouver to Calgary and it stressed me right out!! I was very much relieved that everything arrived in good order. Having Wade be the mover from the arriving end and the receiving end made things much simpler and gave me my piece of mind. My biggest stress was making sure all my boxes arrived. If you’re looking for a mover to do a cross country move I highly recommend Great Canadian Van Lines. Thanks Wade (and movers,) Rick, and Mark for a job well done!!

Lien from Calgary

Jan 25, 2015, Brampton


Hi Jodi,

I just wanted to let you know that I received your cheque in the mail today. Thank you very much for your prompt service and consideration of my claim! I have had things damaged in the past (multiple times) by movers – from Allied to North American Van Lines – and Great Canadian was by far the fastest at delivery (with a studio apartment I am not a “high roller”), and the only moving company to honour my claims. I will remember your services in the future, and recommend you to others when their time comes to move.

All the best in the New Year,

Katie


Hi everyone,
I just wanted to say thank you so much for your fabulous service!! Everything went off beautifully and without a hitch. In fact, I was pleasantly shocked when we got the call from the driver on Thursday evening (Nov. 6th) that he was already in town and ready to deliver on Friday morning. WOW!!! You really are the most honest and best movers I have ever worked with!! And I can’t say enough about the professional and courteous manner of your movers themselves. I would like to post a note somewhere for everyone to read. Should I just post on the BBB website or is there somewhere else? People should know about your amazing service!!!

Thanks again,

Nancy

November 2014

 


My husband and I just finished a successful move with Great Canadian Van Lines moving our belongings from Waterloo, Ontario to Vernon, B.C. The goods got offloaded into a storage locker at the destination in Vernon yesterday, August 23, 2014.
I wrote a review on Homestars (just submitted it tonight, August 24/14, so it is awaiting verification) but thought I should write one directly to your company too.

I based my decision to go with Great Canadian Van Lines after reading very positive reviews about GCVL doing similar moves from one province to another. We were initially going with another major moving company but cancelled with them after reading too many negatives about their service.

To give you an idea of how pleased we were with GCVL, my husband indicated that we should submit a review of your company. He normally wouldn’t feel the need to do so but in this case, we felt that it was warranted.  We want to express how highly satisfied we are with the service provided by GCVL in moving our household goods from a storage locker in Waterloo, Ontario to a storage locker in Vernon, British Columbia. From the start, Rick, in Sales was very professional and prompt in his communications with me and with my spouse. He responded to all our questions and concerns. The quote he emailed us was straightforward, easy to understand and the estimate for shipping of the goods based on the weight, to our pleasant surprise, was reasonable. I appreciate that Rick kept on top of the situation in being persistent in finding us a loading and moving date with a reasonably short window as August was a peak period.

Our driver, Amar was excellent. He was very professional, respectful and competent. He inspired a sense of confidence, reliability and trustworthiness from the get go to the end of the job. Our goods were packed and loaded carefully. Amar gave us his cell number and he communicated regularly to let us know the pick up load date and approximate time. He phoned us within hours of loading our goods to let us know the exact weight and cost of our goods. We were pleased to find out that the actual cost of the goods was slightly less than the estimate. We felt fortunate that Amar was also the mover to offload our goods in B.C. Amar calmly dealt with challenges along the way, including us not being in cell range for  2 days so he could update us on when he would arrive in Vernon. He phoned our back up number and we managed to connect with him within hours of the van arriving in Vernon. He also managed to expertly back the truck into a tight space in our Vernon storage facility. In the end the move went smoothly.

I want to thank you again for the great job that Great Canadian Van Lines did. Your company took away a lot of the stress and worry that goes along with moving. All of our goods arrived intact. We would certainly use your services in the future and would recommend your company to others.

Regards,

Cathy and Viktor Kiss

Wanted to take a few moments to write about this terrific experience we had with our move. I contacted Great Canadian Van Lines and their team through Bronte Movers who came out and gave us quote. Chris was very professional, answered all the questions we had, first time in nearly 30 years since we had last moved. The moving truck arrived on time as promised, the guys put down floor coverings right away and they proceeded to load up our furniture. Team was very polite. They were especially careful with our TVs and paintings. They were packed up and ready at time they had indicated. They then met us in St Davids brought extra help for the unloading which made the job go faster especially by the end of the day we were all very tired and they unloaded and were gone by about 7PM. All in all a very pleasant experience. My friend Jan was helping me finish off the last cleaning at the old place and she said she was very impressed and would certainly recommend and use Great Canadian when they move next year. 

Thank You,
Suzanne and Eric Borrows.
June 28th, 2013


I cant say enough great things about Great Canadian Van Lines. I spent a week scouring the web reading reviews and doing my research to ensure I made the right choice for my long distance move from Kelowna BC to Lacombe AB. The one company that kept coming to the top of the list was Great Canadian. I was so nervous because you hear and read so many horror stories of items lost or damaged but I am so grateful that I decided to go with them. They stayed in constant contact with me throughout the entire process. Dispatch emailed me at least 5 times leading up to my move to ensure they had every detail correct, they confirmed the date and time two days prior and the driver called me the morning of to confirm the arrival time. They were right on time and immediately put down running mats and confirmed what was being moved and what was coming with us. They tagged every single item and inventoried it. They were courteous, efficient, polite and extremely considerate of our belongings. They provided the ticket with the prior weight from the weigh scale and once all packed up they went straight to the closest weigh scale and the driver called me with the final weight. He made sure I had his cell number so I had constant contact at all times if needed. Their approximate delivery date was 2 days earlier then expected and they called the day before delivery and even the day of because they were running an hour late. When they arrived all of our belongings were there intact with not a single bit of damage, not even a dent in a box. I was extremely surprised and extremely happy. I was moving into storage so they were sure to ask what I needed to be left accessible and they even left some of my pictures and an expensive jersey case wrapped in their blankets and didn’t charge us for them. From start to finish the entire team with Great Canadian was AMAZING I paid exactly what I was quoted except paid a bit more because the weight was higher then I expected but that was only because I told them I had 15 boxes when I really had 32. I would definitely recommend Great Canadian especially if you want a stress free long distance move! You get what you pay for and it was well worth the $2400. A HUGE thank you to Rick in Sales, Ian and Connor and even Gregg in dispatch and the biggest thanks to Larry and Dave the very hard working and dedicated guys who moved one of the heaviest couches out there who were extremely professional and friendly. Great job everyone! Thanks again,
Angelica & Nicole Lacombe, AB
April 22nd, 2013


This company was very professional – both pick up and delivery were on schedule and nothing was damaged. All furniture was well wrapped. Bill, the driver/mover and his helpers were excellent. I would recommend this company without reservation.

Thanks,
Donna V.
April 17th, 2013


Great thank you so much Ian for everything it was really nice that you personally took my call and explained the situation and put my mind at ease. I might add that Larry has kept in constant contact with me and kept me informed the entire time. I am thoroughly impressed with the professionalism by everyone on your team right from Rick in sales to Ian and Connor in dispatch to Larry and Mark the movers. I will definitely recommend you and the hours and hours of research certainly paid off. 
Thanks again,
Angelica Barby
April 17th, 2013

My family moved this summer from Vancouver, BC to Winnipeg, MB with Great Canadian Van Lines. This was our third move in two years as we had to travel for my wife’s job. For our first move, we had hired United Van Lines and for the second move we tried Atlas Van Lines. We were very disappointed by both companies as they failed to provide us with the service we had hired them to provide. Their level of incompetence was so bad that I felt obligated to write the CEO’s of both companies to inform them of the poor service they had provided us.Without going into too much detail, Atlas was 18 days beyond the quoted delivery spread with my wife being 6 months pregnant at the time. She spent 6 weeks sleeping on an air mattress. They also managed to “lose” our 42” plasma TV.The reason that I am writing you today is not to complain like I was forced to do in the past, but to congratulate you and your company on doing a fantastic job. As our previous two moves went so poorly, I was dreading having to move again. While searching for a company to move us from Vancouver to Winnipeg, Great Canadian Van Lines was recommended to us by our tenants who were renting our home in Winnipeg at the time. They had moved from Vancouver to Winnipeg with Great Canadian and had very positive things to say about their experience. With my faith in the moving industry completely shattered, I decided to take their advice and give Great Canadian Van Lines a chance. To my pleasant surprise, Great Canadian not only met my expectations, but blew them out of the water.With Great Canadian, it was refreshing to see a team of professionals working together as opposed to your competitors who displayed nothing but professional incompetence. The gentlemen that packed our belongings took great care in making sure our possessions were protected and packed safely. Amar was our driver and he was very professional on both ends as well.In conclusion, I just wanted to take the time to let you know what a great job you and your employees have done to make our recent move as stress free as possible. Great Canadian Van Lines will be our first choice if we ever need to move again and I will be sure to recommend your moving company to colleagues and friends for their moving needs. I thank you and your employees for taking pride in your work. The difference was night and day, and as a customer I have noticed.
Moving review provided by: Kevin and Heather
Winnipeg, MB

moving reviews It is not often that I take the time to send letters such as this, mainly as so few businesses provide service worth writing about. However, in this case, I felt compelled to address the quality you have provided, and for that we thank you for making this normally negative experience a very positive one.

 

Moving review provided by: Christopher Severs
Sales Specialist – Digital Media
Pacific Newspaper Group, Inc.

 


moving reviews

 Your personal knowledge of the moving business in Canada, exceptional talent for personal communication, care for the client, and punctual conduct of the contractual transaction were very much appreciated.

 

Moving review provided by: Dr. Michael Ivan, Ing MSc PhD DSc
Principal Research Scientist
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

 


moving reviews

 Congratulations on your excellent record. BC Relocation Services and our clients appreciate your careful attention to quality service.

 

Moving review provided by: Bill Cameron
BC Moving Agent
BC Employee Relocation Services

 


moving reviews

 I would be happy to recommend Great Canadian Van Lines to anyone contemplating a move.

 

Moving review provided by: Stephen Plunkett
Boston Pizza

 


moving reviews

 We would like to commend the moving crews on this job for their hard work and exceptionally good attitude.

 

Moving review provided by: Kara Norman
Director of Finance
Fraserside Community Services Society

 


moving reviews

 Thank you for coming to our rescue and volunteering your truck and your services to move our art, pick up our equipment and materials and delivering everything on-time to the Gallery Gache for our big event.

 

Moving review provided by: Lynda Kennedy
Director of Development
Motivation, Power & Achievement Society

 


moving reviews

 I was particularly impressed by the personal treatment we received in terms of the handling of our furniture and other personal belongings.

 

Roy A. Osing
Telus

 


moving reviews

 This is a letter of recommendation for the outstanding service I received from your company. I was impressed with all areas of the company right from the initial contact to the drivers picking up and delivering my furniture.

 

Heidi Weigand
Business Operations Manager
Xerox

 


moving reviews

 This letter is to formally thank you for a job well done from start to finish!!!

 

Marna Macdonald

 


 I want to thank you for your help. The move was not as stressful as other moves because the moving company did it all. Greg took better care of our stuff than I would have and I was very impressed. I’m glad that you got me to reconsider because the final weight was 4,320 pounds and (Great Canadian Van Lines Agent) Perfect Packers was the second lowest price of all the movers.

 

Robert
Toronto, ON